Mono - Hymn to the Immortal Wind (2009)

Fifth studio release from Japan's Mono. Produced by Steve Albini who once again proves why he rules. The album comes with a twenty page booklet complete with illustrations and trippy prose-like linear notes.

An orchestra of roughly thirty musicians is credited. Seven instrumentals, averaging ten minutes a piece.  Sweeping multi dimensional cinematic sonic narration. Each song beginning, building, and ending in colossal layers.  Seesawing between haunting ambiance and ecstatic heaviness.

1. Ashes In the Snow
2. Burial At Sea
3. Silent Flight, Sleeping Dawn
4. Pure As Snow (Trails of the Winter Storm
5. Follow the Map
6. The Battle to Heaven
7. Everlasting Light

Made my two brain cells collide.